Paying Your Checkoff
By law, all producers selling cattle or calves, for any reason and regardless of age or sex, must pay $1-per-head to support national beef promotion, research and information through the Beef Promotion and Research Act. Utah state law allows collection of an additional 50 cents for in-state beef promotion programs. Checkoff collections in the state of Utah are collected on the state brand inspection or at the auction at the time of sale.
By law, both buyer and seller are equally liable to see that $1-per-head has been collected and paid.
No producer is exempt from the checkoff. Buyers who resell cattle no more than 10 days from the date of purchase may file a non-producer status form and avoid paying an additional dollar. Remember: A dollar or a document! All selling/purchase transactions must be reported. In each case, either $1-per-head or non-producer status form document must be collected by the brand inspector or auction to show the dollar has been collected and paid within the past 10 days.
Persons in non-compliance with the Act and Order are subject to a civil penalty of up to $7,500 per transaction, plus unremitted checkoff dollars and interest.
Producers not wishing to participate in the state 50 cent program may request a refund of the state portion only. Any refunds are administered by the Utah Department of Agriculture. To access the refund form click here.
Producers wishing to redirect national checkoff funds to the Cattlemen's Beef Board may use this form to complete that request: Redirect Form
Research shows the checkoff returns more than $11 to the industry for every dollar invested. https://www.beefboard.org/evaluation/140731ROILandingPage.asp